Off Campus Access
When you attempt to use any of our databases, you will now be asked to login with a user name and password. Use your Wake Tech Key Account(that's your Blackboard/Webadvisor login) for this box.
Credo Reference (Opens in a new window)
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research. You will find encyclopedias and reference resources that will be perfect for starting your research.
History Reference Center via EBSCOhost (Opens in a new window)
History Reference Center offers more than 58,000 journals, books and historical documents, 78,000 biographies of historical figures, 113,000 historical photos and maps, and 80 hours of historical video covering U.S. and world history.
Salem History and Literature (Opens in a new window)
Includes the following resources:
- The Eighties in America: Reagan, AIDS, the Challenger disaster, MTV, Yuppies, "Who Shot J.R.?" The Eighties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this pivotal decade.
- Milestone Documents in American History
A new series combining full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
JSTOR (Opens in a new window)
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, and education.
History Study Center
Contents include reference primary source docuements, books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images, and video clips.
If you are still looking for more information, you are welcome to look at the resources offered through NCLIVE. You will find access to the North American Women's Letters and Diaries, American Slavery and some great PBS Videos.
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
100 Milestone Documents
This is exactly what it's called, 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
The Emma Goldman Papers
Emma Goldman was a major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism. This is a collection of her papers and includes exhibitions and memorabilia.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. These are online resources from many sources. There are speeches, letters, reports and journal articles.
The Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The Valley of the Shadows Project
The Valley of the Shadow is a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War. Here you may explore thousands of original documents that allow you to see what life was like during the Civil War for the men and women of Augusta and Franklin.
Dcoumenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
LIbrary of Congress American Memory Project
The American Memory Project is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Behind the Veil, Jim Crow in the South
The primary purpose of Behind The Veil was to record and preserve the living memory of African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
American Slave Narratives
The American Slave Narratives contain interviews with slaves from Ohio to Mississippi, including North and South Carolina. Click on Race and Ethnicity and then African American Studies to access these materials.
Wake Technical Community College 9101 Fayetteville Road Raleigh, NC 27603 919-866-5000
Connect with Us: