Sociology journals may be located in three or four different databases. The easiest way to find them is to use Journal Finder. Here are the directions and also some suggestions of academic sociology journals.
- Click the link above.
- Type in the title of the journal you are looking for.
- You will get a list of results as to what databases have that journal. Choose one and then click on the computer icon on the left side of the screen. Note: Some of the journals won't be current and some may not have the most current editions as the publisher doesn't always release them to the databases when they are published.
- You will see a list of editions that are available, but there will also be a search box, usually in the upper right portion of the page. Type in a topic search in that window.
- Review the search for an article that looks good, read the abstract and then print if necessary.
Our long awaited EZ Proxy Server is now active!!
EZ Proxy allows you access to all our electronic resources/databases from home. You will have the same access to resources as if you were in the library and on-campus.
In order to use the research databases, you will need to access them through the links on the library site or through this guide, not by typing the web addresses (e.g., www.nclive.org) directly into your browser; then you will be directed to a login page where you'll need to enter your key account login and password (same login used for accessing Blackboard, WebAdvisor, and my.waketech e-mail accounts).
NC LIVE provides access to hundreds of databases on various topics. The list of databases listed below are recommended based on your general research assignment. Make sure you read the database descriptions to select one (or several) to use for your search! Depending on your career topic, you may need to select more subject-specific databases in addition to the multi-disciplinary (general) databases listed.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- MasterFILE Complete (EBSCOhost)
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Select additional databases to search based on your research topic.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL.
- ERIC: Education Resource Information Center
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- NC LIVE Video Collection
Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns', Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
- Psych Info
PsycInfo, the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- Science Direct
Science Direct offers full-text articles on subjects including biology, chemistry, medicine, dentistry, nursing, and psychology
- Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.