- Finding those books in the library "dungeon"
This index will help you find out if the library has any print literary criticism in the books in the archive. When you search for your author, scroll down to their list of works and see if the works you are studying and enclosed in the books. Look for works that are cited in Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and Contemporary Literary Criticism. We also have Children's Literature and Drama and Poetry Criticism.
- Literary Resources — Feminism and Women's Literature
This page is devoted to sites on women's literature, feminist criticism, and gender studies generally.
- Voice of the Shuttle; American Literature
Voice of the Shuttle emphasizes both primary and secondary resources, and defines its audience as people who have something to learn from a higher-education, professional approach to the humanities.
- Modern American Poetry
Modern American Poetry Site includes criticism, excerpts from previously published analyses of poems, biographical information, relevant illustrations (such as book jackets, broadsides, paintings, drawings, comics, and photographs) and more.
- Internet Public Library -- Literary Criticism
The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
- Perspectives in American Literature
Fans of various periods in American Literature (including novels and drama can spend hours browsing this extensive resource on the subject.
- The Emily Dickinson Collection from Harvard University
Harvard University and Amherst College hold a majority of the manuscripts to Dickinson's work. Harvard and digitized some of those manuscripts and you can find them here.
- The Mark Twain Papers and Project
A comprehensive archive of Sam Clemens’ personal letters and papers.
- PBS site that accompanies the film, Mark Twain
- The Kate Chopin International Society
From the Kate Chopin International Society comes this website that encompasses her two novels and a dozen or so of her more popular short stories. The site also covers information about when each work was written and published and basic facts about setting and characters, plus a list of articles and books about the work.
- Langston Hughes
Compiled by David Kresh from the Library of Congress, this collection of material on Langston Hughes contains links to Library of Congress material as well as other websites that can help you track down literary criticism.
- The Hemingway Society
Home of the Hemingway Society and the Hemingway Review. The journal specializes in researched scholarship on the work and life of Ernest Hemingway including criticism.
- Faulkner at Virginia: An Audio archive
Here you can listen in on William Faulkner’s sessions with audiences at the University of Virginia in 1957 and 1958, during his two terms as UVA’s first Writer-in-Residence.
- The F. Scott Fitzgerald Centenary
This is a collection of articles and other material on F. Scott Fitzgerald.
- Robert Frost
Robert Frost taught at Amherst College, off and on, for over forty years. He first came to campus to give a reading of his poetry in April 1916 while he was working on his third book of poetry -- Mountain Interval. His major works are archived at Amherst College. This site details that work and the current holdings.
- John Steinbeck
From the Steinbeck Center in California, this informative website links to information, biographies and other sources.
- Bloom's Literary Reference Center
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
- Literary Reference Center Plus
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
- Academic Search Complete
This database will help you search online journal articles. Click the “Full-Text” and Peer Review tab after doing your search so that you get articles and not just the citations. Also, click on the title to read the abstract before viewing the full text. Print in PDF if possible as it will help with your citations.
With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
- Faber Poetry Library
Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.
- African-American Poetry
Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
- Twentieth Century African American Poetry
62 of the most important Apoets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
- American Poetry
Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.
Call Number: PS 1294 .C63 Z73 2007
Publication Date: 2007